top of page

Confederate coverage

A compilation and commentary on the work I produced regarding Confederate activity on the University of Mississippi campus in the Spring semester of 2019.


Before the storm


I interviewed event organizers and locals prior to the event, breaking this story for the Daily Mississippian. I was the only reporter on the Daily Mississippian staff in contact with the protest organizers.


Soon after, I met with counter protest organizers and worked with the Daily Mississippian's managing editor, Devna Bose, on a double-bylined story previewing community reactions to the upcoming protests.


Within the next week I reported in contribution to two news desk updates as news broke on the subject, which can be found here and here.


I attended and photographed a pro-equality protest the evening prior to the marches. Here is some information on the event. One video clips I produced during the event is below.






On the day of the protests, I trailed the confederate group leaders which I had been in contact with as sources throughout the events. This story was published that evening. Below are the photographs from throughout that day. A compilation of the Daily Mississippian's coverage of that weekend's events can be found here.






Following these events, campus organizations began working towards the removal of some of the Confederate imagery on campus. I worked with Adam Ganucheau to create visuals for his piece on the behind-the-scenes student movement working to move the Confederate monument.


In addition, I reported on some of the aftermath of this process. My most recent contribution to this coverage can be found here.

4 views0 comments
bottom of page